Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
800 Posts
That's well into the no fun zone...

On the bright side, at least it was a larger suv. Although if it "were" a jeep suv, you would have just broken something off to get out and made a "custom mod" for a lucky customer. Free upgrade!

·
Registered
800 Posts
AGM batteries prefer low and slow charging. Lead acid prefer a stronger charge to a certain point before they go into "float charge" mode. You might need more solar. And probably a better controller. Mppt controller would be better than a pwm. I'm not an expert, but I have done a lot of research for a future project. Ymmv

Photon or Wraith?
Wraith. I like it enough that I bought two.
For a moment I thought you guys were going sci fi on us.

Star trek - photon torpedoes

Stargate Atlantis - wraith (bad guys)

·
Registered
800 Posts
makes sense the batteries I had before were something like 40 amp max output but it took them weeks to discharge. whole different game now with lead batteries.
Great info Fish. One thing that should be mentioned. DO NOT discharge any lead acid battery below 50%. It will lose it's capacity and longevity quicker than you would think. Lithium batteries you can discharge way down. Downside of lithium is that you can damage them if you charge them while too hot or cold. And the cost.

·
Registered
800 Posts
This got me curious so I checked into it. To expand on the information a little, this post from Mean Max might give you a little more insight.

Explorer 8.8 Axle codes

43 Open 3200 3.08
41 Open 3200 3.27
42 Open 4.10
46 Open 3.73
45 Open 3200 3.55
D4 Limited Slip 3200 3.73
D2 Limited Slip 4.10
L73 Limited Slip 3.73

Specs:
Code Capacity Ratio
43 Open 3200 3.08
41 Open 3200 3.27
42 Open 4.10
46 Open 3.73
45 Open 3200 3.55
D4 Limited Slip 3200 3.73
D2 Limited Slip 4.10
L73 Limited Slip 3.73
L - Limited Slip Differential
C - Conventional Differential
Code Ratio
41 3.27
43 3.08
42 3.45
44 3.73
45 3.55
47 4.10
72 3.08C