Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1989 Jeep YJ Laredo
163 Posts
I'm not an EMP expert nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but wouldn't it be easier to make your garage a Faraday cage?

The National Weather service says a car is a Faraday cage that's why your safer in your car during a lightning storm vs being outside. Maybe that's why some electronics survived in their test.

·
Registered
1989 Jeep YJ Laredo
163 Posts
Uneducated question here: But would having your negative cable disconnected on your battery prevent EMP damage?
It may help, but I don't think it would prevent it. An EMP is a magnetic field and when that runs over wires it creates it's own electric current. That's how a generator works. I'm not an expert either, but how I understand it, it would not stop it altogether.

A wire cage is called a Faraday box and is supposed to block the electromagnetic pulse thus protecting whatever is in it. So like a dog kennel in theory should work. A microwave works awesome, but obviously can't fit a jeep in. :)

·
Registered
1989 Jeep YJ Laredo
163 Posts
I have a question that will probably seem some or naive, but it's one of those things that'll bug me unless I ask.

With all of the concerns about rust from salt and various road chemicals in certain regions, do people power wash or clean their undercarriage in these areas? Or is it just too much to keep up with?

Maybe there are downsides that are only known to people in those areas.
I'm from northern Wisconsin and Wisconsin uses way too much salt IMO. We try to keep up on washing the whole vehicle but the problem is usually after a storm, it gets really cold so if you do wash it there are issues like frozen water hoses, doors freeze shut, or windows don't roll down because they're frozen.