Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 129 Posts

·
Have Cummins, Will tow.
12,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Every year around this time we get a swarm of people asking where to mount their hi lift they got for Christmas. Well I have compiled a nice selection of pictures and explained the pros and cons of each.

First I will say I am not a professional but I have been around them. I have friends who are missing teeth, have broken bones and I personally almost busted my windshield when mine let loose. These things CAN be very dangerous if not respected.

Use caution for language.

First up is the info on the HLJ. They have many uses from clamps, winches, jacks, spreaders and more. There are lots of attachments and options from color to metal choices. That is all up to you.

Next is a common myth that people have. " I must get a HLJ as I have 31" (or larger) tires and the stock jack doesn't work." Well in this picture a stock jack clears 35" tires with room to spare. Yes he is in the garage but a rock or 2x4 will help on the trail. Not to mention your suspension drop, but more on that later.

This is one nice thing about the HLJ but also bad at the same time. Yes you can winch yourself out with it, but notice you are standing in line with the strap, cable or chain. If something breaks you can be seriously injured or killed. If doing this have something hanging over the strap on both sides. I will not dig into this as we are focused on the lifting aspect and mounting.

Here we can see someone lifting their Jeep with a HLJ. As you can see the jack is almost maxed and the tire is still on the ground. In the situation a stock jack would be ideal. To counter this I will use a piece of chain hooked to the frame then under the axle and back to the frame to keep the axle from dropping down. Do this before you lift the Jeep and be sure to avoid any brake lines, ABS or other wires.