Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Subaru Outback for the wife.

575 17
Some of you might know by now I’m a technician.
We had a 2012 Buick Regal that I got pretty cheap with a blown timing chain. About 2.5 months ago some moron pulled in front of my wife and it was totaled.
I’ve been searching for a Subaru Outback even before this happened and finally found one on Craigslist yesterday a couple hours away in Columbus. Seller disclosed it had the typical blown head gaskets and would get hot...so I gave it a shot and it did get hot but I have a cousin near there and I left it there till I can trailer it home. Hopefully this weekend. It ran and drove good though. I can fix it for a few hundred bucks not counting my labor, but I think $2500 was worth it.
2011 Outback limited edition, original owner and it’s very solid underneath. New tires too. The wife seems pleased, she not thrilled with the Impreza we have now. I buy broken Scooby doos and flip them when I can to fill in when the shop is slow. But this is the keeper I Hope.
Wheel Tire Car Vehicle Sky
Tire Wheel Sky Car Vehicle
Car Vehicle Motor vehicle Window Automotive design
Car Automotive parking light Sky Vehicle Grille
Reactions: 93YJ4FUN
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
2011 Jeep JKU
11,879 Posts
No worries- because I still think that's a great deal on an '11, (whereas you should have been reported for theft if it was '21...) ;)

How Many miles?

We seemingly live in the heartofo Subaru country here in the PNW, they are everywhere (almost as prolific as Jeeps)

I would love to have a subi guru /tech local, I love those cars, and they are pretty reliable when serviced/repaired correctly, but dealership labor rates here are ridiculous.

Hoss

·
Registered
04 TJ
858 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
No worries- because I still think that's a great deal on an '11, (whereas you should have been reported for theft if it was '21...) ;)

How Many miles?