Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,305 Posts
Wire brush, bigred’s vinegar, then steel wool and paint thinner. Polish machined rounds lightly with 600 wet/dry, wash with hot soapy to flood away carbide, and dry. Do the machined surfaces last after wire wheeling on the cast/forged raw surfaces.

And RustReformer has worked great for me, too.
If you get super rust-free with vinegar, though, rustoleum tech warns to not use it because it needs to react with the oxidation- clean brite steel can ‘flash rust’ with rust converter application. The red “rusty metal primer” sticks very well to clean rusty metal or bright metal.

Reactions: NHfireLJ

·
Premium Member
10,305 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,305 Posts
That was interesting reading. Good cursory overview.
I’m no engineer but I did note that while they cover caster characteristics and benefits, none of the sources mentioned leverage or compoumded damping from mass which are the two primary ways that caster benefits steering drivability.

·
Premium Member
10,305 Posts
I got an email from Photobucket that they will be deleting my photos to either have 2.5 gb or 250 photos.
I have been uploading pics a while but my early ones are hosted and I may not be able to re-upload. Which sucks because it kills my build. Oh well.
Sent from my naivePhone using photoKilledTheBucket
I havent recieved that email. I need to get off my behind and get all my photos off and fix my build thread before half of it is gone.
This or something like it, + Carbonite
WD 3TB Cloud https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00EVVGAC6/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_uiWTCb15M5C6D

·
Premium Member
10,305 Posts
...budget your time and do three a day or something?.........
A good idea. At that rate I'll be done in 6 months or so
That's how I eliminated tons of stuff in storage. Some stuff from 20 years back, but in all that stuff I didn't intend to accumulate there was like something in every box I was so glad to find.