Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 20 of 89 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there! This is my first time ever asking for help on a forum, so hopefully it'll pay off.

I've got a 1984 CJ7 that I've been wrenching on for a little over a year now, fixing issues that were on it when I bought it, things the previous owner did, making it more reliable, etc. It is now finally time for me to address the gearing and axles on it. I've still got the stock axles, Dana 30 up front, AMC Model 20 in the rear. I've done a semi "scientific" check to see what gears it has in it now, which I believe to be 2.72s. Needless to say with 33s, 4in lift, and a 5 speed manual, the gearing is not very good.

Im thinking 4.56s for the gearing, but being that Im going to be in the axles replacing the old gears, now is the time to install lockers as well. I'm on a decently tight budget, so I was thinking about doing "lunchbox lockers" in both axles. but it was brought to my attention that in the rear when i would make a sharp turn that the inner tire could chirp/hop.

I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to things like this, as I'm new to all of this, but what all setups are you guys running and any ideas/help with what I should go with would be much appreciated! I'm running the 258 (4.2L) that came in the Jeep as well.

Thanks!

·
Registered
949 Posts
Staying 33s? Don't go 456. I've got 456s on 35s and it's great offroad but on road 1st gear is useless and it's rapping out at 65.

Axle wise I'd do trutracs if you want to spend the money. 410s and for sure one piece shafts in the rear.

If you want to go the cheap route research lunch box lockers.

If you drive on street and get any snow or even wet asphalt you will not like a non selectable or LSD type of diff.

Sent from my SM-A015A using Tapatalk

Reactions: MouseTheCJ7

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·