Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
2001 Jeep Wrangler Sport
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to Jeeps, didn't know I wanted one until I had to drive a lot at work, so after work on Friday I bought an '01 Wrangler Sport (5 Speed) and I love it. I had been in the market for a mid-late 80's Toyota SR5 Xcab pickup but the market on those like most things right now is terrible.

I joined here for trying to connect with the Jeep community and to learn from y'all. Oh, and the Jeep wave was so strong that even driving Wrangler's at work I'd get a wave. Kinda nice and unexpected, I do miss that kinda thing from when I used to have a motorcycle.

This Jeep is gonna really need some TLC, first up is trying to clear up my back window or possibly replacing the soft top then a winch.

Automotive parking light Wheel Tire Land vehicle Vehicle
Tire Wheel Automotive parking light Car Land vehicle

· Think Outside the Catalog
10,630 Posts
Don't spend money on a winch unless you actually plan to go off-road. Same goes for larger tires and such. Buy what you actually need, not what you think makes the Jeep look cool.

· Registered
2001 Jeep Wrangler Sport
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Don't spend money on a winch unless you actually plan to go off-road. Same goes for larger tires and such. Buy what you actually need, not what you think makes the Jeep look cool.
I actually do plan to do some off roading. When the weather gets warm again, I plan to find some nice remote spots if I can around me to go camping.

10,630 Posts
I actually do plan to do some off roading.
Then I'd recommend finding the local real world club. Then go on a few day rides with them to get the feel for what to do and what you may need. It's also a lot safer for a novice to have help with issues if needed.

· Registered
2001 Jeep Wrangler Sport
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·