Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Premium Member
1989 YJ Sahara
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I did a search, and I know there are a lot of threads about this...but I am looking for more of a don't go that route, or do type of answer here. I have an 89 Saraha that I just got. It really hasn't been operational since 2008. it has 81,000 miles on it, and seems solid. I finally got it running, has a Howell on it, but I assume by the positive valve cover pressure, extreme pressure, I have at a minimum bad rings. It is an automatic.

so the question here is, I have a line on a 93, 4.0 with an ax-15. I really am wanting a manual transmission, and I know there is a good deal of work to get that, but what I don't know much about is the OBD type stuff. Is there a painful amount of wiring or other items that need to be completed if I am pulling the entire driveline engine setup from a donor to mine? I am not a mechanic in the least bit, but I am handy and have worked on my own vehicles for 15 years. I have no issue in thinking my abilities in pulling and small fabrication items but wanted to solicit some input on things to avoid. Say I find a better setup in a TJ, and it has OBD2, should I avoid that?

Again, I know this has been covered in other posts, but a lot of them are pretty old and not a lot of replies, in at least what I searched.

Thank you

·
Registered
183 Posts