Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am relatively new with carbs and CJs so I need some help with my vacuum lines. I recently put a new cam in the 304 because the old one was flattened and I have had problems keeping it running. I finally got it to idle at about 1100 rpm, but it would stop past that. For this I had every port on the carb plugged and the choke plate was closed with no air cleaner. Now I am trying to keep the choke fully open with an air cleaner and it won’t idle anymore. I am trying to determine what vacuum lines I need for this engine to get it to run properly. I have no egr valve, break booster or a vacuum advance on my distributor. I tried to connect a vacuum to the intake manifold to some of the ports, shown below, and have tried a couple of different combinations but nothing is making it idle, of course I have played around with the mix screws and idle screw, it still won’t idle. Can anyone help?

Motor vehicle Fuel tank Automotive tire Automotive design Vehicle

Automotive tire Fuel tank Hood Automotive fuel system Motor vehicle

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Hood Automotive fuel system Rim

Automotive fuel system Hood Automotive tire Automotive lighting Motor vehicle

Attachments

·
Registered
949 Posts
Have your searched for a vacuum diagram? I may have one but I'll have to look around. Think I pulled it off here years ago.

Remember also you should compare 77-80 304 diagrams as they stopped offering them in 81 and each year got more smog stuff added to it so your 85 is definitely a swap and you won't find a V8 anything for it going by the year.

Sent from my SM-A015A using Tapatalk

Reactions: wfournier3

·
Registered
1974 Jeep CJ-6
6,023 Posts