P0369 Code along with limp mode - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 05-13-2020, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
jeffyp12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
P0369 Code along with limp mode

so ive tried to search the threads on this and noone could really pin point anything so im hoping to find someone who fixed it.

i was towing about 3k behind my jeep when all the sudden it went into limp mode and threw p0369 code. luckily i had my tuner on me and was able to clear the code, about 100 miles later up the road same issue.

i checked all the wires going to the sensors even tried to wiggle the hell out of them to see if i can duplicate the issue to no luck.

what i do know is that my battery does seem to be on its way out with a standing no load voltage of right around a flat 12v
could this be causing the issue under load?

any insight would be appreciated, i have not been able to duplicate the issue since i was towing up north a few weeks back but im afraid of the next time i go up north with the trailer.

jeffyp12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 05-13-2020, 01:07 PM
jtec
Web Wheeler
 
jtec's Avatar
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 8,832
some info - what model year etc?

Any other codes?

other than POS tuner any modifications to powertrain?

When I see the price of OEM I think aftermarket.
When I see the quality of aftermarket I think OEM.
jtec is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 05-13-2020, 01:23 PM Thread Starter
jeffyp12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtec View Post
some info - what model year etc?

Any other codes?

other than POS tuner any modifications to powertrain?
sorry about that haha

2012 wrangler 3.6l 80k miles.
regeared to 4.10
diablo sport tuner running 93 premium tune.

that was the only code my tuner showed.
jeffyp12 is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 Old 05-13-2020, 01:43 PM
jtec
Web Wheeler
 
jtec's Avatar
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 8,832
details
P0369-CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR INTERMITTENT - BANK 1 SENSOR 2
Bank 1 is passenger side.

thoughts.
Be sure to check engine OIL correct weight and level as the VVT systems are not forgiving.
Engine pressure is a mention BUT I am sure that would not be limited to a code for this 1 sensor or yur keen eye..

idea- ol filter is correct - oil level and weight, might want to add a can of 'risolone*' as a VVT isssue could set this code.


ALSO 12v is not a great # to see for a battery. System CMP troubletree lists 11+ volts as low threshold. Might be time to look for a replacement battery if it is that low.

* an oil detergent for any gum varnish issues.

When I see the price of OEM I think aftermarket.
When I see the quality of aftermarket I think OEM.
jtec is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 05-13-2020, 07:27 PM
Geoskier9
Member
 
Geoskier9's Avatar
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 132
Garage
Interested to see what you can come up with... I’ve had the same issues for about a year after chasing cam actuators, replacing sensors, and passenger rear camshaft lifter. Honestly, its the reason I have started considering selling. Oh, also replaced valve covers and gaskets. Galley bolts were also tight.

I clear my code by pulling over and cycling the ignition. Turns off the traction control light (limp mode), but the CEL stays on for a few more starts while it continues to run fine.

How does risolone compare to seafoam?
Geoskier9 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 05-13-2020, 08:59 PM
Geoskier9
Member
 
Geoskier9's Avatar
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 132
Garage
Surfing a few other threads it looks like their resolutions were either head replacement (typical of 2012 and 2013) under extended 10 year 150,000 mile extended warranty, or bad wiring at the sensor.

This is the STAR case for the galley bolts, might be some help for the OP.
Attached Thumbnails
BDAB403D-01C7-4338-B216-E23AECC66185_1589426255896.jpeg  
Geoskier9 is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 05-14-2020, 09:07 AM Thread Starter
jeffyp12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
ive checked the wiring and everything seems good that i can see. i havent gone so far to replace any sensors but im not sure if it would be oil related. used exact weight synthetic mobil one and filter. although i did see on other threads that when it is under load and does not get enough oil pressure it could throw that code which would make sense to why it only happened to me going up and coming home from up north trailering.

im going to replace the battery today just because its obviously on its way out anyway. possibly might hook up the trailer this weekend and see if it duplicates with a new battery?

Battery being a little low also makes sense because my friend that works for Chrysler has the dealer program on his laptop and when he hooked it up the program immediately said replace battery. low voltage. and possibly why it didnt have an issue for the remaining 3 hours on the freeway coming home is i didnt have the music up and a/c was not on?
jeffyp12 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 05-14-2020, 09:42 AM
Geoskier9
Member
 
Geoskier9's Avatar
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 132
Garage
Are you using the Mobil 1 high mileage?
Geoskier9 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 05-14-2020, 10:13 AM Thread Starter
jeffyp12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
i honestly cant remember. was before the winter time hit last i changed it i just know i always use mobil 1. jeep only has 80k miles so i dont think i would have bought that but its possible. why do you ask?
jeffyp12 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 05-14-2020, 10:25 AM
Geoskier9
Member
 
Geoskier9's Avatar
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 132
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffyp12 View Post
i honestly cant remember. was before the winter time hit last i changed it i just know i always use mobil 1. jeep only has 80k miles so i dont think i would have bought that but its possible. why do you ask?
I have been using the Mobil 1 high mileage since mine hit 75000; I just thought it was an odd coincidence that we might be using the same oil.
Geoskier9 is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 05-14-2020, 10:50 AM Thread Starter
jeffyp12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
Out of curiosity, is your problem pretty consistent? or does it only happen in certain situations?

mine apparently only did it when i was towing and long trip.... as ive put over 200 miles on it since this happened with no issue.
jeffyp12 is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 05-14-2020, 11:20 AM
Geoskier9
Member
 
Geoskier9's Avatar
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 132
Garage
Mine is sporadic, but I can always duplicate it. Driving at freeway speeds, accelerating at about 50% throttle usually up hill. It started out just when it was hot outside (90 or more), but it has become more common at lower temps.
Geoskier9 is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 05-14-2020, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
jeffyp12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoskier9 View Post
Mine is sporadic, but I can always duplicate it. Driving at freeway speeds, accelerating at about 50% throttle usually up hill. It started out just when it was hot outside (90 or more), but it has become more common at lower temps.
i dont have any hills by me only upnorth but i couldnt duplicate it then either. even on the way home going up and over the a bridge it didnt do it, nor when i was not trailering and was trying heavy acceleration from 70mph still no luck getting it to do it.
jeffyp12 is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 05-14-2020, 12:27 PM
Geoskier9
Member
 
Geoskier9's Avatar
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 132
Garage
Mine is 2.5” lifted with wide 33’s which is probably a similar load on the engine as trailering. I don’t have a problem finding hills here in Colorado...
Geoskier9 is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 05-15-2020, 02:21 PM
Geoskier9
Member
 
Geoskier9's Avatar
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 132
Garage
From what I am seeing on other forums including one from Australia, the problem is backed out wires in the harness for the sensor. The photo shows one such repair. This guy allegedly paid over $1000 for this repair. I am going to tear mine apart and see what I can find this weekend.
Attached Thumbnails
0EE95440-2629-4629-8E76-47B2A9DB36FE_1589574031145.jpeg  
Geoskier9 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome