New JK owner - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-03-2015, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
jeepnoob01
2008 WK 

New JK owner

Hey guys, I'm new to the JK side of the jeep world. I just bought a 2008 jeep wrangler unlimited X. this is my second jeep, moving on from my WK after a bad accident, i am looking to start new.

Any advice for beginner mods?

Also plan on lifting and running 35's i understand there is a lot of work with this, any advice on what exactly i have to do to make this dream a reality.

Thanks guys!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 10-03-2015, 10:54 AM
BRC_1980
2008 JK Wrangler 

Are you going big or just driving on the street? In my opinion, if you are not doing 3+ trails, I would just stick to BB and 35's. Your jeep will still be capable of doing quite a lot. There's at least 5 levels of builds. All depend on budget and what you want to actually do. First level is what I mentioned.
post #3 of 6 Old 10-03-2015, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
jeepnoob01
2008 WK 

It is primarily going to be on the streets with the occasional trail here or there. I am just looking for something a little bigger and more aggressive.

post #4 of 6 Old 10-03-2015, 11:14 AM
Neo1130
2015 JK Wrangler 

Not a lot of work at all. I had 35's on my 2009 Rubi with a 2.5" BB lift. I then added another 1.5" with 4 door springs and called it good. Total of 4 inches of lift and I only really rubbed with the swaybar disconnected on full flex.

post #5 of 6 Old 10-03-2015, 12:16 PM
222Doc

2012 JK Wrangler 

Garage
Gears is one issue. That will cost as much in not more than the lift.

Building to that task is hardly what most do. In Cal most the trails are from 1-10 and 3.5 is like a flat dirt road. In AZ 3.5 is medium since we rate 1-5. For most drivers at that point it about lockers as well as the rest. better drivers can get through just harder on the jeep at 4. must have lockers. 3.5 lift would be min. as well or ride the belly on rocks.