Mileage - what to look for buying used? - JeepForum.com
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 Old 05-27-2020, 08:22 AM Thread Starter
rook68

Mileage - what to look for buying used?

Hey all! Total Jeep newbie here!

I have read through some different threads, but I don't have a clear picture... I have found some nice older wranglers, 2d (07,08)... Most of these have much higher miles 100 to 150k miles... One that I really have my eyes on is a 07 Wrangler X, it has 149k miles... 6speed manual, v6... It looks very well maintained, but the mileage is where I cringe.

Couple of questions:
1) Is the mileage a concern? Without knowing if the guy beat the balls off the Wrangler....
2) Based on the upgrade list (see below), is it worth substantially more than KBB? They are currently asking 6k more than what KBB has for the unit. I am OK with paying a little more than KBB for some upgrades, but how much makes sense?

Thanks!!

Upgrades:
Brand new Teraflex 3.5 lift
Teraflex tire carrier
Falcon shocks
Traildash 2 programmer
Pedal commander
5-35x12.50r20 bfg ko2 less then 1k miles
5-20 xd wheels
Havoc front and rear bumper
Smittybuilt side steps
Smittybuilt H2O 10k synthetic winch
Weathertech floor mats

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 Old 05-27-2020, 08:45 AM
Kruzin
Web Wheeler

2009 JK Wrangler 

"Upgrades" do not add anything to the value of any vehicle and in many cases lower the value. No dealership will give a nickel more for them if you were to trade it in.
Then there's the question as to WHY is the current owner selling it?
If they just put a bunch of $ into it doing that lift and tires, what's wrong with it? Something is making them sell it after dumping a bunch of money on it.
I would count on spending several thousand more just to make these "upgrades" right.

3.5" lift is overkill for 35s. With that much lift, there WILL be additional costs involved that aren't listed in the upgrades done so far.