High Mileage and engine flush? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-18-2017, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
4DrWranglerLvr

High Mileage and engine flush?

Hi - a bit new to the forum, and never posted before. I've been a proud owner of a 4 door Sahara model (3.8L, V6) since I bought it in '08. It's getting up in miles, close to 150k, but been regularly maintained for the most part. My kid recently brought to one of the local quick lube type places to do a quick oil change, and they were suggesting an engine flush (about $70) because of sludge when they did the oil change. Is that something we should have considered? Under what conditions would a flush be appropriate? I've never done one before on any of my cars, but I've also never had a car get up this high in mileage. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-18-2017, 07:30 PM
SoK66
2009 JK Wrangler 

Utterly unnecessary. Just change the oil & filter regularly and be sure not to run it low on oil by neglecting to check it. 3.8L engines are known to consume oil, run it down low on oil and you'll have a pile of scrap.

Last edited by SoK66; 10-09-2017 at 06:38 PM. Reason: Typos
post #3 of 6 Old 07-18-2017, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
4DrWranglerLvr

@SoK66 - thanks. The oil was a little low too, and the Valvoline guy said that was one of the reasons to do it. I tend to agree with you; all my cars have always consumed a little oil, including the Wrangler.

post #4 of 6 Old 07-18-2017, 08:09 PM
Mlarv
2014 JK Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DrWranglerLvr View Post
@SoK66 - thanks. The oil was a little low too, and the Valvoline guy said that was one of the reasons to do it. I tend to agree with you; all my cars have always consumed a little oil, including the Wrangler.
If worried flush it yourself. There are several way to do it.