Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

2009 JKU Randomly goes into Limp Mode

4K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  cranbiz 
#1 ·
Need some help on this. About a month before hitting 100k, my Jeep started to randomly go into Limp Mode. I do *a lot* of small trips (less than 3 miles) throughout the week. I've owned this Jeep for almost 4 years now, and I've never had any issues.

I took it to my mechanic and explained the issue. I've been using this mechanic for 5+ years now on other vehicles as well, and he's always been completely honest and fair to me.

He had checked the sensor, fluid, etc and said everything looked fine. He said he took apart the bar body (no idea what that is) and replaced some of the things in there (I'm not a mechanic, and cannot recall what it was that he replaced). The cost was about $550, I took it home, and all worked fine... for about 2 days. Then the problem came back. Again, it was intermittent. It did not happen each time I drove, but seemed to happen earlier in the day (taking my son to school, going to get coffee, etc), and not later on (going to pickup takeout or the like).

I brought it back to him and said the problem persisted. He gave me a loaner and called me back the next day, turned out one of the things he replaced was faulty. He took everything back apart, replaced it with the new part and off I went again (no charge here). He did tell me, though, that he had checked everything and if this didn't work I would have to go to the dealer because it could be some computer issue.

The engine code that came up was P0841 - Pressure Sensor - which he said was fine when they ran tests.