16s vs 17s on lifted Jk - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-15-2015, 07:02 PM Thread Starter
JASJ
2012 JK Wrangler 

16s vs 17s on lifted Jk

I am pondering the decision for wheels and tires. I've got a Rockrawler2.5 stock mod with other suspension additions, raised about 3" from stock and flat fenders. Running 33s now, good winter set up in Park City(when it behaves like winter!) on Duratracs.

With tire sizes cheaper in 16" and with some good options on alloys even with Goodyear MTRs I can get in on five with 35" tires for $400 cheaper than 17".

I expect a bit less connection to the pavement with 16s but really noticeable? Off-road? What are the advantages or disadvantages there? I assume more tire and less rim are an advantage there, I'm a novice off road.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-15-2015, 07:14 PM
christensent
2014 JK Wrangler 

17's better on-road because less rubber. 16's better off road if aired down because there is more rubber that can adjust to the terrain. If you don't air down, it doesn't really matter offroad. Regardless of the scenario, an inch isn't going to make or break anything.
post #3 of 8 Old 02-15-2015, 07:19 PM
Duh

Quote:
Originally Posted by JASJ View Post
I am pondering the decision for wheels and tires. I've got a Rockrawler2.5 stock mod with other suspension additions, raised about 3" from stock and flat fenders. Running 33s now, good winter set up in Park City(when it behaves like winter!) on Duratracs.

With tire sizes cheaper in 16" and with some good options on alloys even with Goodyear MTRs I can get in on five with 35" tires for $400 cheaper than 17".

I expect a bit less connection to the pavement with 16s but really noticeable? Off-road? What are the advantages or disadvantages there? I assume more tire and less rim are an advantage there, I'm a novice off road.