Super 35 or Built Axle - JeepForum.com
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 39 Old 05-08-2020, 01:00 PM Thread Starter
Tymeks
2006 TJ Wrangler 

Super 35 or Built Axle

Hello,

1st time post here. Finally pulled the trigger on a base ‘06 TJ. It needs some love. I’m a shade tree mechanic without issue but my question is this. The rig needs to be regeared along with a bunch of other stuff. I figured since the fluid needs changing, and the seals need changing, mine as well do it right.

This will not be a rock crawler, it will be a light trail at most with the family type of rig.

So the question is this.

Doing it right, do I swap in a Super 35 or a built axle from G2 or Currie or something like that.

The question is more geared towards the labor part of it. I don’t feel like I’ll be able to set the pre-load or complete the regearing myself so I’ll want that done by a shop. But I would have no issue dropping an axle and replacing it with a built one already.

So since, I’ll have to pay for labor on the Super 35 but not on the built axle, am I better off just swapping in the axle?

It currently only has a 1 inch body lift on it, but I do plan on lifting it more to put 33’s or 35’s on it. But for sure, just light camping trails is all it’ll probably see.

Lastly, since this is not going to be a rock crawler of any kind, what’s the most effective diff for me?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 39 Old 05-08-2020, 01:33 PM
sycboi
1997 TJ Wrangler 

Trail use and light off-road I would think a Super 35 setup should last you the life of the Jeep. 33s won’t be a problem at all. An aftermarket differential will end up costing way more than setting up what you have...

SuperBeast, enforcer for the Mopar Mafia ̿ '̿'̿\̵͇̿̿\з=(ē̪●)=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿
post #3 of 39 Old 05-08-2020, 03:03 PM
Wheelin98TJ
JEEP FREAK

1998 TJ Wrangler 

A Super 35 would work for you. Cost will end up being around $2k including the regear and install.