1Likes
  • 1 Post By CGrugger

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 07-05-2020, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
Kiwi_TJ
1997 TJ Wrangler 

SSYE Install in or out of Jeep?

Hi Guys,

I am getting set up to install my JB Conversions SSYE. I have access to a vehicle hoist for the day. So I have two main questions:

1. I was wondering if people have found it easier to leave it in the Jeep or take it out?
  2. Also, any idea on the average elapsed time for installing an SSYE?

I am a pretty competant mechanic, having installed my lift and done most of the maintenance on the Jeep myself. Jeep already has adjustable upper control arms.

Looking to install it in the next couple of weeks, then take the axle out and weld in the new rear trackbar bracket to accept my new track bar.

1997 TJ Soft Top/ Half Doors
4.0 I6 with 5 Speed Manual | K&N Panel Filter | D30/D44 | 3.07 Gears | Banks Torque Tube Header
31*10.5 R15 Maxxis Trepador Radial Tyres | 2" BDS Spring Lift | Bilstein 5100 Shocks | JKS Discos | JKS Rear Swaybar Links | 100W Narva Spotlights
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 07-05-2020, 01:39 PM
CGrugger
Web Wheeler

2005 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiwi_TJ View Post
Hi Guys,

I am getting set up to install my JB Conversions SSYE. I have access to a vehicle hoist for the day. So I have two main questions:

1. I was wondering if people have found it easier to leave it in the Jeep or take it out?
  2. Also, any idea on the average elapsed time for installing an SSYE?

I am a pretty competant mechanic, having installed my lift and done most of the maintenance on the Jeep myself. Jeep already has adjustable upper control arms.

Looking to install it in the next couple of weeks, then take the axle out and weld in the new rear trackbar bracket to accept my new track bar.
I did the teraflex ultra short sye on my jeep, and I did it in the jeep, and I did it while the jeep was on the ground. So you should be fine doing it on the lift.