Spark plug electrode broke off inside engine!! Advice needed! - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 02-10-2015, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
jtstaggs0811
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Spark plug electrode broke off inside engine!! Advice needed!

Went to change the plugs and coil on my 2000 Jeep Wrangler 6 cyl 4.0 and found that the entire electrode nipple had broken at its base and is in my engine. Halfway through taking the engine apart (just before taking Exhaust/Intake manifold bolts out) I had a conversation with a mechanic of 25 years tell me to stop and just put it back together. He claims that 9/10 times the 1600 degree plus combustion chamber will just disintegrate the piece and harmlessly go out the pipes. Has anyone heard of this? It sounds too good to be true and I'm skeptical but at the same time I'm no expert mechanic and I'd rather not take my cylinder head off if I can help it.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 02-10-2015, 03:04 PM
Jeepsr4me

take a small hose that will fit in the hole and put the shop vac on the other end to suck it up and hold on while you pull it out. could rotate that piston so its closer to the top where you can get at it easier..

Gonna have to figure out how to get a good seal on the hose...
metal bouncing around in a engine is NO GOOD,. DO NOT LISTEN TO THAT advice you got... If the metal gets stuck under the valve t will destroy the seat and may ben the valve..
post #3 of 19 Old 02-10-2015, 03:05 PM
TJ4Jim
1999 TJ Wrangler 

Was it already broken or did it break while being removed.

post #4 of 19 Old 02-10-2015, 03:27 PM
JBTJ

2001 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtstaggs0811 View Post