ROKMEN Highline fender hood mod. Body tech style. - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 186 Old 04-13-2010, 08:38 PM Thread Starter
Hendrix
TJOTY 2013

1997 TJ Wrangler 

ROKMEN Highline fender hood mod. Body tech style.

I recently ordered and installed a set of Rokmen Highline Fenders. Anyone that has seen these knows the quality I am talking about.

I am a body tech, so I figured I would do a Highline hood modification thread on JF.
I am not affiated with Rokmen in anyway, Just another very satisfied customer. I just thought JF needed this thread for the technical aspect. Thanks for looking and stay tuned for more pictures and descriptions .

Starting with the Highline Install. The kit Rokmen sells is a DIY configuration. I would of loved to have the egdes TIG welded who wouldn't. But I am in Nashville. Rokmen is in Colorado. Not gonna happen at his time. Maybe a cage later.
I assembled the fenders, clamped in place and started welding with my 120v mig wire welder. Tack everything possible. Then grinded all my welds although they are good. But no sexy TIG. I then layed down a very thin coat of dynaglass body filler, then a thin coat of Platinuim body filler. sanded with 180 grit. Primed and based out. Waiting on the Hood for finish painting.

Now for the Hood.

Cut one time 1/4 in above the body line.
Then close hood.

Nice fit in the back, but the hood is sloped towards the front.
Make second cut wedge style from back to front.
This is a nice fit, You can stop here and add some trim and add some Hood pins.

But why?
I then took the pieces I cut off. cleaned them up, trimed off the reinforcments from the inside. Cleaned up the egde of the hood with a grinder and began the finished mod.

I tack welded the original edge from the hood back on the hood.
The problem now is the front does not match up, Easy just split the end like a wedge.

Then use a hammer lighly form the new front corner then repeat on the other side.