Project HOUSEFUND - TJ Build on the cheap, it's HowIRoll - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 181 Old 01-03-2008, 11:00 PM Thread Starter
HowIRoll

1997 TJ Wrangler 

Project HOUSEFUND - TJ Build on the cheap, it's HowIRoll

Purpose of this thread:
To show what can be done on a very limited budget. My wife (of over a year now) and I combined do not make very much (we have no kids--she works full time, I am a mechanical engineering student at UC and co-op on off quarters). We are also trying to save for a house at the same time this Jeep build is taking place. We don't go out to eat a lot unless we get a gift card, we both pack our lunches, we wait to see movies until they are in the dollar theater, we do a budget every month to see where our money went, and most importantly I have a wife that is supportive and loves to get her hands dirty and help.

I hope this thread also helps others so they don't have to spend the time searching and repeating mistakes that I will make in the process. And also to show you the flexibility you can have if you save up some money and can afford to take some risks.

The Start and the Story:
In the spring I bought a '98 TJ SE 4 cyl with back spaced American Racing rims meant for 32's but had BFG 31's on them, hard top, soft top, full doors, soft doors, bikini top, OR Lights, and a killer sound system. I paid for this with none other than my wife and I's account called "House Fund" (it really is our house fund). My wife's car was getting old and I use to have a YJ back when we were dating (until the motor blew on it and I got a car because of my commute to UC) so we decided to get rid of her car and get the TJ.