Possible Tranny Problems...please help!!! - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-17-2019, 11:53 AM Thread Starter
AFWxJeepGuy
2006 TJ Wrangler 

Possible Tranny Problems...please help!!!

Hi all...it's been a while!

I have an 06 TJ that has been having some transmission issues and I'd like to hear some expert advice before I do anything.

1st...I am a novice at mechanical stuff, but not afraid to follow instructions or a Youtube DIY video.

Ok, so about a year ago I noticed some slipping when I was accelerating onto the highway. It happened 2-3 times in a couple months. Then one time it happened, the check engine light came on, started flashing and I had trouble getting it moving. Took it to the dealership and they said that the computer was bad. They wanted to charge me like $3600 to replace it. I did some research, bought one, changed it out for MUCH less. All the codes vanished and it ran fine for a while. Then one day on the highway, I felt it slip slightly as I sped up and the engine light came on again, didn't flash...and it drove fine except for the tiny 'slip'. I've been driving it for months and felt it slip 2-3 more times over a few months. I took it in again and the dealership says that the "Torque Converter" is bad and that the fluid is all black...and that could mean I might have to replace the tranny.

Here is the list of codes it's trowing atm....

Unrelated to transmission:
P0421
P0431

Tranny related:
P0700
u0168

So what should I do? Is the torque converter something I could do myself...or let it to the pros? The slipping is very sporadic...It might happen 1 out of 50 times I "floor it" merging onto the highway. If that is the case...is the torque converter even the issue? I've seen posts that say if it was bad, I wouldn't be able to drive it period.

Could changing the black fluid help? I've read up on how to change it using a bucket method....is that worth a shot?

Thanks in advance!!