Play in Steering Wheel - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-15-2021, 06:39 AM Thread Starter
matthewdubya

Garage
Play in Steering Wheel

Over the past couple of months, I have been battling with play in the steering wheel. The play is a dead spot in the steering from around 11 o'clock to 1-2 o'clock, where no input on the steering wheel affects the wheels turning. The play is consistent from stopped to any speed, however at higher speeds, it gets a bit more precarious. 3.25" Lift was installed in May of 2020, increased tire size from 31 to 33 by April 2021 however the play didn't show up until June 2021.

I have been troubleshooting this for a few months, since June of this year, and in an effort to weed out the problem, as well as replace some parts on my 98 TJ, I have done a full overhaul of all steering components. The replaced list below -

-Power steering pump and pulley
-Steering gear (replaced 2x with re-manufactured, 3rd time is a brand new box)
- heavy duty adjustable track bar
- heavy duty tie rod and drag link
- upgraded steering stabilizer
- all new steering shafts from steering wheel to steering box
- all tie rod ends and ball joints are new
- Alignment was completed after installing new linkage
-Air pressure is around 29-30 PSI

If I wiggle the steering wheel, I can see the steering shaft move all the way up to the steering box, but there is no output from the pitman arm. This is the reason I have gone through multiple steering gears, as my assumption was they were bad re-mans. On each of the re-man boxes, I did make very small adjustments to the sector shaft screw as a last resort to try and get the slop out, but it made no difference, which is why I ended up getting a new steering box.