lowering my TJ - yes lowering - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-31-2020, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
Adam's Toy

lowering my TJ - yes lowering

I am sure there are some folks that read that title came here to tell me I am an idiot. But here is the issue, the person I bought it from put a 6-inch lift on it. He also said he bought springs for a different model because they give another inch lift, so maybe 7 inches? It is a 99 with 33-inch tires and the bottom of the door is 33.5 inches off the ground.

Iíd like to go to 35s. It has the flat steel fenders up front. I think 35s should fit with 4 inches of lift. Does anyone know for sure?

Can I simply cut the springs by 2 inches? If I order springs for a 4 inch lift can I simply put them in, or will I need to make other changes?

I am a competent mechanic but all my time has been spent on sports cars. I just donít know anything about 4X4 suspensions.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 07-31-2020, 02:36 PM
CGrugger
Web Wheeler

2005 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam's Toy View Post
I am sure there are some folks that read that title came here to tell me I am an idiot. But here is the issue, the person I bought it from put a 6-inch lift on it. He also said he bought springs for a different model because they give another inch lift, so maybe 7 inches? It is a 99 with 33-inch tires and the bottom of the door is 33.5 inches off the ground.

Iíd like to go to 35s. It has the flat steel fenders up front. I think 35s should fit with 4 inches of lift. Does anyone know for sure?

Can I simply cut the springs by 2 inches? If I order springs for a 4 inch lift can I simply put them in, or will I need to make other changes?

I am a competent mechanic but all my time has been spent on sports cars. I just donít know anything about 4X4 suspensions.
Where are the pictures??? You got to share!