Looking for guidance after a PCM swap... - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 11-27-2018, 01:14 AM Thread Starter
Kokala
1997 TJ Wrangler 

Looking for guidance after a PCM swap...

I am no mechanic and have learned a lot form the forums. After much research and testing using these forums as reference, I decided my PCM was failing. Symptoms were, fuel pump not shutting off after 3 seconds coupled with the gauge cluster not waking up until after several attempts at turning the key on and off. I decided it was the PCM because after replacing the fuel pump the problem persisted and when the gauge cluster would finally wake up the Jeep would fire and run like a champ. Finally, the Jeep quit starting all together. It has sat for about 4 months.

After installing the new PCM the fuel pump and gauge cluster behave normally. The jeep turns over strong and starts but dies instantly. If I hit the gas I can get one or two revs out of it before it dies. It sounds normal in that instant. No sputter, it shuts off like the key was removed. I have cleaned the IAC and replaced the TPS after getting the code P0123. I back probed the TPS before replacing it and had voltage from .8 to 3.9 from closed to open. The new TPS gives the same reading.

Any thoughts? I have a sinking feeling the PCM is still the issue... Any help is appreciated!

`97 Wrangler Sport
4.0 L
Manual
No mods
Stock

Last edited by Kokala; 11-27-2018 at 01:15 AM. Reason: Formatting
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 11-27-2018, 05:50 AM
tsc
2006 LJ Wrangler 

Any chance your rig has sentry key? Where did the new pcm come from?
post #3 of 18 Old 11-27-2018, 06:47 AM
2jhanna
Web Wheeler
2002 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsc View Post
This was my first thought also, either his rig, or the new pcm.

Another thought is to go back to your old pcm and see if symptoms go back to original.

I am multi-talented, I can talk and piss you off at the same time.

jhanna