JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   TJ Wrangler Technical Forum (https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/)
-   -   Lift and gears (https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/lift-gears-3564690/)

Denbowcj7 01-02-2016 03:24 PM

Lift and gears

I'm running stock gears (4.10) and 2.5 RC lift at the moment with 32s. I'm pretty sure I want to do 4.88 gears with around 3.5-4 in lift. With my 32s the 4.10s aren't horrible but yet I'll end up going to a bigger size tire eventually. My 4cyl can't handle too much more. It does alright at low speeds but once I get up to highway speeds it doesn't like to stay at a constant speed. This is my daily but also go off-road probably once every month if that. I would love some opinions so I can hear all the options I have. I'm a college student so I'm steadily saving money for this project. Might be a while till I get enough. So opinions of height and brand of lift and if that's the best option for my gears.
Thanks.

Denbowcj7 01-02-2016 08:31 PM

365Jeep 01-02-2016 08:39 PM

What size tires are you wanting to run? Are you keeping your 32s for the foreseeable future?

Denbowcj7 01-02-2016 09:41 PM

Would 4.88s be able to do 35s? I know for sure I'm atleast gonna go 33s

lander2312 01-02-2016 09:48 PM

I have the 2.5 and have 4.88and I love them. 35s and your going to have to do more than gears. Will need to upgrade the rear axel for sure cause the D35 won't like the 35s for long. With that said the 4.88 give me what I need but if going to 35s and sticking with the 4banger I would go 5.13. Only people I know who even make the 5.13 for the D35 is revolution.
Good luck

Denbowcj7 01-02-2016 10:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lander2312