I didn't realize it was so easy to falsify odometer readings. - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-25-2013, 11:09 AM Thread Starter
Vinman
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 882
I didn't realize it was so easy to falsify odometer readings.

I picked up a wrecked Rubicon and swapped the mint black interior into my LJ,
In the process I picked all the nicest dash components as I reassembled my dash, I got quite a surprise when I used the gauge cluster from the donor Jeep and the mileage and VIN from the donor Jeep now registered on mine.

I thought those pieces of info would have been stored in the PCM and not just the cluster.

I then reinstalled my original higher mileage cluster.

Vinman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-25-2013, 12:25 PM
TJJP77
Registered User
 
TJJP77's Avatar
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Somewhere, MI
Posts: 1,887
I think it is stored in both places. Had you driven the Jeep around for a bit, I believe the cluster would have automatically updated to the higher mileage stored in your PCM.

Chris
'02 Sahara
'06 Rubicon Unlimited
Sienna Jeep Club: Member #15
TJJP77 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-25-2013, 12:35 PM
biffgnar
Moderator
 
biffgnar's Avatar
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 26,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJJP77 View Post
I think it is stored in both places. Had you driven the Jeep around for a bit, I believe the cluster would have automatically updated to the higher mileage stored in your PCM.
Nope. It is very common in XJ world for the dash connections to have issues (and it happens occassionally in TJ world). XJ guys often swap their dashes and have the "wrong" mileage. Only way to get correct mileage to show up on dash is to buy new dash unit from dealership where they want something like $1k for it. PO of my XJ actually paid that at the dealership. Lots of threads about this over in the XJ forum.
biffgnar is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 05-25-2013, 01:46 PM
mrblaine
Wizard of Brakes
 
mrblaine's Avatar
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Quail Valley
Posts: 33,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by biffgnar View Post
Nope. It is very common in XJ world for the dash connections to have issues (and it happens occassionally in TJ world). XJ guys often swap their dashes and have the "wrong" mileage. Only way to get correct mileage to show up on dash is to buy new dash unit from dealership where they want something like $1k for it. PO of my XJ actually paid that at the dealership. Lots of threads about this over in the XJ forum.
It is also stored in the PCM. Been through that several times redoing and swapping around PCM's for SKIM and Auto swaps.

The dealer needs some method to program either with the correct mileage if one of the two is replaced.

I am Savvy
blackmagicbrakes.com
Knowledge does not equal understanding.
mrblaine is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-25-2013, 03:17 PM
biffgnar
Moderator
 
biffgnar's Avatar
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 26,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrblaine

It is also stored in the PCM. Been through that several times redoing and swapping around PCM's for SKIM and Auto swaps.

The dealer needs some method to program either with the correct mileage if one of the two is replaced.
It may be there but it won't automatically update the console as suggested
biffgnar is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-25-2013, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
Vinman
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 882
It also intrigued me with VIN of the donor vehicle being displayed. It could be used as another tool to assist in verifying the cluster has not been changed by the seller to falsify the mileage readings.
Vinman is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-25-2013, 06:53 PM
DoctorTim
Registered User
 
DoctorTim's Avatar
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 2,477
for XJs without a digital odometer, you can easily adjust the mileage by popping it open, taking out the odometer number-wheel thingy, pulling back the little washers, and adjusting the numbers. I did it when i had to get a cluster from a wrecked XJ.
DoctorTim is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-25-2013, 08:23 PM
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrblaine View Post
It is also stored in the PCM. Been through that several times redoing and swapping around PCM's for SKIM and Auto swaps.

The dealer needs some method to program either with the correct mileage if one of the two is replaced.
could have sworn they can do it with the drbiii for either the dash or pcm and it's a half hour labor charge.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorTim View Post
for XJs without a digital odometer, you can easily adjust the mileage by popping it open, taking out the odometer number-wheel thingy, pulling back the little washers, and adjusting the numbers. I did it when i had to get a cluster from a wrecked XJ.
the early mechanical odometers are easy to turn, the later ones are generally very tamper proof.

'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ratmonkey is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-25-2013, 10:21 PM
mrblaine
Wizard of Brakes
 
mrblaine's Avatar
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Quail Valley
Posts: 33,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratmonkey View Post
could have sworn they can do it with the drbiii for either the dash or pcm and it's a half hour labor charge.
I believe you are correct.

I am Savvy
blackmagicbrakes.com
Knowledge does not equal understanding.
mrblaine is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome