HP30 To Sleeve or Not To Sleeve? - JeepForum.com
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 05-28-2016, 11:33 PM Thread Starter
Tuffjeeper
2000 TJ Wrangler 

HP30 To Sleeve or Not To Sleeve?

Hi all,

I've been running an LP30 for almost 10 years, and felt after research on the interweb that an HP30 is a worthy upgrade and good alternative to the Rubi LP44 or other LP44's available such as from G2 or EGCS.

I will be installing Currie Johnny Joints to replace the rubber bushings on the axle end, installing Artec LCA mounts, Artec Inner C gussets, and Riddler Diff cover.

I'm on the fence as to whether to sleeve it before it goes under the Jeep. I understand that trusses may be stronger, but aesthetics are important to me and I do not care for the look of trusses personally. This is where sleeves come in... I haven't bent my current Dana 30, so in reality, I do not see a need to install sleeves, but if I were to, now would be the time to do it.

I'm looking for 3rd party suggestions. Please, if you have real world experience, share the wealth.

2000 Silverstone Metallic TJ
U4WDA
Utah JeepCrew
RR4W
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 05-29-2016, 12:00 AM
Knuckelhead
R.I.P. Knuckelhead

2000 TJ Wrangler 

Run it with upgraded axle shafts and good U joints. I you F' it up, go get another HPd30 and do it again... IMO
post #3 of 26 Old 05-29-2016, 12:32 AM
willis36
Web Wheeler

1997 TJ Wrangler 

If you have not bent your current housing in ten years, what makes you think you will bend the new one? Your more likely going to eff the new housing up welding a bunch of stuff to it then bending it on the trail

post #4 of 26 Old 05-29-2016, 01:35 AM
ravenworks

2006 LJ Wrangler 

To sleeve it is a waste of money

Semper-Fi "81-84"
I.U.O.E. - 18
post #5 of 26 Old 05-29-2016, 09:05 AM
Ben

1998 TJ Wrangler 

"To not to"
-Tow Mater

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.