Dana 44 front axle - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 37 Old 08-21-2009, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
VikesTJman

2004 TJ Wrangler 

Dana 44 front axle

Looking to swap the stock dana 30 with a dana 44. Prefer a new one, found a place online. Jeepsareus.com....(good site or company?) Should i keep the front 3.73 like the back? or should i upgrade the rear with a higher one that i get for the front? Does anyone have anything i should know? I am open to any criticizm/support you have. I'm still learning alot, and am taking it one thing at a time. Learning everything i can before i do it. Leave some feedback!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 08-21-2009, 07:24 PM
never monday
2004 LJ Wrangler 

Seems like most people want 35’s for street or trail. I wrote this as a reference guide on what you’ll need to do it right. Yes, you can do it half way, or many other variations to these suggestions.

The preferred method
5-6” of lift.
This can be all suspension or a combination of suspension and body. If your going SL/BL most will say 4” SL and 1” BL. It could be done with a 2” budget boost and a 3” BL(but why).
Short or long arms are a personal choice. Stock arm’s aren’t an option above 3” of lift. You’ll need something with adjustment to recenter the axle.

Slip yoke eliminator and double Cardan drive shaft. Unless you have a Rubicon then just a CV shaft.

Decrease the up travel to keep the tires out of the fenders.
This can be done by lowering the stock bump stops or raising them from the bottom with hockey pucks. Ideally closing the gap on both the top and bottom is more effective.

Wheels,
Due to the most common width of 12.50 on 35” tires. Stock Jeep wheels won’t work well. You’ll want an 8” wide wheel with 4” of back spacing of less.

Axles
A stock Dana 35c won't last very long with the 35's. A Super kit. A Dana 44 replacement or 8.8 replacement.