Dana 30 Issue - JeepForum.com
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 02-27-2017, 10:31 AM Thread Starter
Robocop1
2013 JK Wrangler 

Dana 30 Issue

Ok, so I just left the alignment shop and they told me my axle was bent. The camber was off almost a full point. My question is whether or not a lift changes the specs for the camber. My tires have about 20000 miles on them and there is no sign of wear. Now understand, I'm no mechanic but shouldn't there be some evidence of the front end being that far out of alignment unless the specs change due to the lift.? Any help is appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 02-27-2017, 07:11 PM
Knuckelhead
R.I.P. Knuckelhead

2000 TJ Wrangler 

By "full point" do you mean 1 degree?...
post #3 of 22 Old 02-27-2017, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
Robocop1
2013 JK Wrangler 

Yes sir.

post #4 of 22 Old 02-27-2017, 09:31 PM
Jerry Bransford
Administrator

2004 TJ Wrangler 

A suspension lift has no effect on the camber angle, that is wholely an axle thing. If the axle's not bent too badly, you can install adjustable ball joints which will allow the camber angle to be adjusted.

When you have a choice, buy American made.
post #5 of 22 Old 02-27-2017, 09:45 PM
Knuckelhead
R.I.P. Knuckelhead

2000 TJ Wrangler 

My camber was off by .9 degrees, installed an offset .5 degree upper ball joint and that brought it back into spec. That was 12 years ago and its still working well...
post #6 of 22 Old 02-28-2017, 04:25 AM Thread Starter
Robocop1
2013 JK Wrangler 

Thanks for the info guys. The left side showed -1.8 and the right was -1.7. The did suggest replacing the upper ball joints with 1.5 degree joints to correct the issue. The lower ball joints showed a little movement so they suggested replacing them as well all for the nominal fee of $892.00. I guess I just am surprised that I haven't seen any evidence of this in tire wear. It almost seems like it would be cheaper to replace the whole axle. Any thoughts?