cooling fan not working - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 07-19-2017, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
timh141
1994 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
cooling fan not working

Hello, on my son's 2006 tj (2.4L, 6spd), i just changed installed a timing belt kit. It had 105,000 miles, i have a 2005 and mine broke at a 105,000 so i wanted to spare him getting stranded somewhere. While working on this, I noticed the engine checklight was on. The codes are P0645 (a/c), P0480, P0481 (cooling). I'm not good at diagnosing trouble, i checked the 40 amp fuse in the engine compartment, replaced hi speed/lo speed fan relays and the a/c relay. THe codes stayed, fan didn't come on. At the parts store they said one speed of the two speed motor wasn't working so i ordered a replacement fan shroud and motor from rockauto for $349. jUST FINished putting that in, and it doesn't come on. I reset the codes by disconnecting the battery cable for a bit. Still getting the three codes. Any ideas? I have run out of things to try. Thank you in advance. Doesn't seem to overheat on the highway or short trips. In the driveway when the needle got to 210 i shut off the motor

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 07-20-2017, 07:47 AM
NotURMailman
Web Wheeler

2005 TJ Wrangler 

P0645 -- A/C Clutch Relay Circuit -- An open or shorted condition detected in the A/C clutch relay control circuit.
Start by checking fuse 21 in the PDC. If good then check the a/c compressor relay (also in the PDC). It could be a lot of things including a wiring problem, a control switch issue, or a bad clutch.

P0480 -- PCM is trying to turn on the radiator cooling fan and it isn't coming on. Start the engine and turn the a/c on, the cooling fan should be running. This may very well be a secondary symptom of the first issue above.

P0481 -- telling you that the 2nd circuit of your electric cooling fan is having a problem, again this could very weel be a symptom of the above issue.