C.A.R.B. requirements when moving to California - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 21 Old 08-28-2015, 09:48 PM
Jeepster83
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris142 View Post
As long as it has 7500 miles or more,no ck engine light and no missing or modified emission parts it should not be an issue.
This is 100% correct and are the only things you need to worry about. I used to be a CA DMV technician and I did vehicle registration all day for 4 years. There are no other requirements but what's in the quote above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrblaine View Post
Being right has nothing to do with arrogance. It's only perceived that way by those that are wrong.
WyoTech West Sacramento - Graduated 8/19/2011

Back into my Jeep... finally.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #17 of 21 Old 08-29-2015, 02:14 PM
Robert J. yates
1998 TJ Wrangler 

Cali smog has 3 parts.... The visual inspection, the tank leak down test and the tailpipe emissions test.

The visual somewhat depends on the shop doing the test. My charcoal canister has been relocated and it's never been noticed. Same with my catalytic converter. OTH I keep hearing about not having the CARB sticker on my AEM intake so go figure.

I previously had the genrite 24 gallon tank on my rig and it was never noticed as an issue and it always passed the leak down tests just fine.

TJ's can have NOx issues on the rolling emission test in my experience and that all comes down to whether or not your cat is in good working order. Even with the fat cam and increased compression ratio my rig easily passes as I replaced my cat a few years ago.

You should not need a referee unless you pick out a dick shop who hoses you so ask around and get references from somebody you know.

If you can show that your rig has been in state under 10 days and you show up to the DMV with a clean smog cert, you won't have any problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by samgm2 View Post