Best method to paint TJ grill? (pics) - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 04-25-2012, 03:26 PM Thread Starter
Scott2pt0
2002 TJ Wrangler 

Best method to paint TJ grill? (pics)

Hi all...my grill is pretty beat up and I want to bedliner it. I'm a newbie painter at best and am not sure the best method to tackle this. It looks like a PITA to remove the grill so do you think I should carefully mask, work around the winch and spray it, get some paint-on bedliner or buck up and remove the grill? I'm really just looking for some advice. Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 04-25-2012, 03:39 PM
brplatz

1998 TJ Wrangler 

When I did mine, popped the hood, blue painters tape around the whole thing. Stuff some newspaper behind the grill. Go to town, light even strokes
Attached Thumbnails
image-3686348426.jpg  

The Second Amendment is in place in case they ignore the others.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrblaine View Post
That's like saying you wish your boyfriend was a bit less gay.
MOΛΩN ΛΑΒΕ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 23 Old 04-25-2012, 03:39 PM
danielbuck

1946 CJ2 

I'd take the winch off, remove the headlight bezles, and unbolt the metalcloaks and open the hood. Then it would be very easy to paint it without removing it. You could probably just mask around the metal cloaks too. But if you want to do it nice, probably best to unbolt them. You'll probably have a hard time working around the winch though, so I'd remove that for sure.

post #4 of 23 Old 04-25-2012, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
Scott2pt0
2002 TJ Wrangler 

Thanks guys. I think I'll unbolt the winch, remove the headlight bezels, mask the hell out of everything around it, sand, primer and spray. I just needed a little encouragement! Thanks again.