Auto to Manual Transmission Swap - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
 12Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 44 Old 04-03-2019, 10:58 AM
Jakegrovephoto
Registered User
 
Jakegrovephoto's Avatar
1931  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by skjeep View Post
Not necesarily. Just take a plain automotive relay and wire its coil between ignition switched 12V and a TC control wire from PCM. The PCM will be happily switching the relay thinking it is a TC clutch
Done that many times when swapping an AW4 to TJ with 3speed tranny and keeping the stock PCM.

The wires you use are directly at the PCM


You can take the fused ignition switch 12V from the PCM plug 1 (black) - dark blue wire at cavity (pin) 2
and the TCC signal from the PCM plug 2 (white) - orange/light green wire at cavity (pin) 11
Just wire the coil side of a small automotive relay betwen the two. other contacts of relay remain unused.
After a GOOD isolation and waterproofing you can just zip tie the relay directly to the PCM harness


This!!!

I had been debating this in the back of my mind a while now for my aw4 to ax15 on a 00 xj. Hell I was going to keep the solenoids wired up and just make a little alum box to mount them in under the dash.

CEL is a big no go for ca smog

Solid build thread btw. Thanks for sharing!



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jakegrovephoto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 44 Old 04-03-2019, 12:21 PM
Jakegrovephoto
Registered User
 
Jakegrovephoto's Avatar
1931  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: San Diego
Posts: 181
Auto to Manual Transmission Swap

Not to thread jack, but while the subject is up anyone know how the pcm functions with e-vin and mileage on an obdII as listed?

Could pull a proper pcm for my swap but afraid at smog time the Evin will be pulled up. Looks like tech authority and a pcm pass-thru setup could reflash the vin?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jakegrovephoto is offline  
post #18 of 44 Old 04-03-2019, 02:13 PM
mukluk
Web Wheeler
 
mukluk's Avatar
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Clyde
Posts: 5,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce06Unltd View Post
...my '06 Unlimited (NOT Rubicon) NSG370 just blew the reverse gear. Not sure what happened, but it makes a grinding sound going forward and won't go in reverse at all.
Most likely the reverse shift fork has been bent or broken, a common issue with the NSG370 if a person accidentally tries to shift into reverse while the vehicle is moving forward. Where reverse is located in the shift pattern near sixth gear makes this easy to do.
Jerry Bransford likes this.

2000 TJ SE
2005 LJ Rubicon
mukluk is offline  
 
post #19 of 44 Old 04-04-2019, 09:20 AM
Bruce06Unltd
Registered User
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Harrisburg
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mukluk View Post
Most likely the reverse shift fork has been bent or broken, a common issue with the NSG370 if a person accidentally tries to shift into reverse while the vehicle is moving forward. Where reverse is located in the shift pattern near sixth gear makes this easy to do.
I know how easy that is to do when shifting from 4th to 6th which is usually at high speeds, to make it worse. This blew right after a start from a dead stop (oops, is did squeal the rear tires on dry pavement, but it was an uphill start at an intersection) and went through 2nd 3rd and 4th when it started to grind at about 30 mph. I was only a mile from home so I drove on with occasional noise, but realized I had no reverse when I went to back onto the driveway at home. I don't know if it would be cheaper fix the reverse gear when I am paying my shop $106 per hour labor. It has 160K miles on it, so I figured I would swap out the whole tranny and clutch while I am at it. I shuddered at the price of a new NGS370 and thought the AX15 would be cheaper, but with that adapter cost and labor, it works out about even.

Has anyone had a NGS370 rebuilt? I wonder what that would cost...and might as well replace the clutch too...might as well.
Bruce06Unltd is offline  
post #20 of 44 Old 04-04-2019, 09:20 AM
Bruce06Unltd
Registered User
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Harrisburg
Posts: 25
Has anyone had a NGS370 rebuilt? I wonder what that would cost? Yikes and might as well replace the clutch too...might as well.

Last edited by Bruce06Unltd; 04-06-2019 at 10:29 AM. Reason: duplicate post
Bruce06Unltd is offline  
post #21 of 44 Old 04-05-2019, 09:55 AM Thread Starter
TheFreedombird
Registered User
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 16
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce06Unltd View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mukluk View Post
Most likely the reverse shift fork has been bent or broken, a common issue with the NSG370 if a person accidentally tries to shift into reverse while the vehicle is moving forward. Where reverse is located in the shift pattern near sixth gear makes this easy to do.
I know how easy that is to do when shifting from 4th to 6th which is usually at high speeds, to make it worse. This blew right after a start from a dead stop (oops, is did squeal the rear tires on dry pavement, but it was an uphill start at an intersection) and went through 2nd 3rd and 4th when it started to grind at about 30 mph. I was only a mile from home so I drove on with occasional noise, but realized I had no reverse when I went to back onto the driveway at home. I don't know if it would be cheaper fix the reverse gear when I am paying my shop $106 per hour labor. It has 160K miles on it, so I figured I would swap out the whole tranny and clutch while I am at it. I shuddered at the price of a new NGS370 and thought the AX15 would be cheaper, but with that adapter cost and labor, it works out about even.

Has anyone had a NGS370 rebuilt? I wonder what that would cost? Yikes and might as well replace the clutch too...might as well.[IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/JeepForum_2016/smilies/tango_face_sad.png[/IMG]
As far as swapping the transmission goes I don't know a whole lot about it. The ax15 that came from the 92 dakota blew up some bearing and I am moving at the end of the month so I ordered a remanned NV3550 and tossed that in there. Granted I didn't have to change anything up. Just needed a new shifter. With that I went with B&M Sports Short Throw. Does the NGS370 have a different style bell housing?

A smart man learns from his own mistakes. A wise man learns from others mistakes
TheFreedombird is offline  
post #22 of 44 Old 04-07-2019, 06:58 AM
Bruce06Unltd
Registered User
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Harrisburg
Posts: 25
I think I need the adapter with the AX15 to set up the CPS right. This thread is about swapping and auto for manual tranny. Sorry if I got it off course, but I can't find anything about swapping the NGS370 to an AX15 in an '06. The bell housings are obviously different, it seems.
Bruce06Unltd is offline  
post #23 of 44 Old 04-07-2019, 08:17 AM
mrblaine
Wizard of Brakes
 
mrblaine's Avatar
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Quail Valley
Posts: 33,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrblaine View Post
The swap is possible and easy relatively. Just not as cheap as it could be. You need the conversion bellhousing from Advance Adapters that has the CPS hole over on the right side. It will swap onto the NV3550 or AX-15 that you acquire. After that, there is no wiring, PCM swap, or anything else electrical that needs messed with. AA gives you a new throw-out bearing, clutch fork ball stud in the kit and a list of which parts to mix and match to get the clutch disc, pressure plate and pilot bearing all working. It is a very basic swap and no harder than doing a clutch job.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce06Unltd View Post
I think I need the adapter with the AX15 to set up the CPS right. This thread is about swapping and auto for manual tranny. Sorry if I got it off course, but I can't find anything about swapping the NGS370 to an AX15 in an '06. The bell housings are obviously different, it seems.

As stated previous, it is not an adapter, it is a conversion bellhousing. You remove the bellhousing from the AX-15 and replace it with the one from AA.

https://www.advanceadapters.com/prod...o-40l-engines/
Bdajeep likes this.

I am Savvy
blackmagicbrakes.com
Knowledge does not equal understanding.
mrblaine is offline  
post #24 of 44 Old 12-17-2019, 08:35 PM
40vern
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bham
Posts: 360
interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by skjeep View Post
Not necesarily. Just take a plain automotive relay and wire its coil between ignition switched 12V and a TC control wire from PCM. The PCM will be happily switching the relay thinking it is a TC clutch
Done that many times when swapping an AW4 to TJ with 3speed tranny and keeping the stock PCM.

The wires you use are directly at the PCM


You can take the fused ignition switch 12V from the PCM plug 1 (black) - dark blue wire at cavity (pin) 2
and the TCC signal from the PCM plug 2 (white) - orange/light green wire at cavity (pin) 11
Just wire the coil side of a small automotive relay betwen the two. other contacts of relay remain unused.
After a GOOD isolation and waterproofing you can just zip tie the relay directly to the PCM harness
i am interested in this cause i just did an auto to 5 speed swap and now i am getting the same code. if this would work i would like to try it out
40vern is offline  
post #25 of 44 Old 12-18-2019, 08:39 AM
skjeep
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: sk - eu
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by 40vern View Post
i am interested in this cause i just did an auto to 5 speed swap and now i am getting the same code. if this would work i would like to try it out

If it was in a TJ with 3speed auto it will work

current 2x XJ, 2x JK-U, SJ, M38A1, WJ
gone XJ, TJ, XK, ZJ
skjeep is offline  
post #26 of 44 Old 12-18-2019, 10:24 AM
40vern
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bham
Posts: 360
ok

Quote:
Originally Posted by skjeep View Post
If it was in a TJ with 3speed auto it will work
mine was a tj with a 3 speed auto that i swapped to an ax15. i am getting the code p0743,

so do you think this will work? how do i clear the computer

if you are talking about using the relay trick, i would really like to try this however i would really need someone to walk me through this. my grammar is better than my electrical skills and that is very sad.
40vern is offline  
post #27 of 44 Old 12-18-2019, 11:27 AM
40vern
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bham
Posts: 360
kinda

Quote:
Originally Posted by skjeep View Post
If it was in a TJ with 3speed auto it will work
i kinda think that i understand what you are saying.

you are saying hook the relay up so the computer will activate the relay when it sends the signal.

i read there you can test the relay but adding power to the two terminals and you will hear the click meaning that the power is opening and closing the little door inside the relay.

so when the computer sends the signal to the relay. it opens or closes the door inside the relay and the computer thinks it has done its job.

if i am understanding this correctly then i think i can do this. however i am confused as to where or what two wires i need to hook to the relay
40vern is offline  
post #28 of 44 Old 12-18-2019, 01:39 PM
Rubi4MyMrs
Web Wheeler
 
Rubi4MyMrs's Avatar
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trails of
Posts: 4,229
You are substituting the relay coil for the lockup solenoid which is just a coil too in the circuit. You can do that from the wiring connector near the trans or find the 2 wires near the PCM.

In your case the wires going to the solenoid connector are red/light green from the fused 12v source & the other is orange/light green which goes to the PCM.

The way is works is you have 12v to the relay when the key is on & the PCM grounds the other wire (orange/light green) when it wants the lockup. That grounding will close (click) the relay & the PCM senses the voltage passing through the relay & thinks it is the solenoid (hopefully).

Here is a diagram of how it is done. Note you connect the 2 wires to the 85 & 86 relay terminals.
Attached Thumbnails
bypass.jpg  
Rubi4MyMrs is offline  
post #29 of 44 Old 12-19-2019, 01:01 AM
40vern
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bham
Posts: 360
thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubi4MyMrs View Post
You are substituting the relay coil for the lockup solenoid which is just a coil too in the circuit. You can do that from the wiring connector near the trans or find the 2 wires near the PCM.

In your case the wires going to the solenoid connector are red/light green from the fused 12v source & the other is orange/light green which goes to the PCM.

The way is works is you have 12v to the relay when the key is on & the PCM grounds the other wire (orange/light green) when it wants the lockup. That grounding will close (click) the relay & the PCM senses the voltage passing through the relay & thinks it is the solenoid (hopefully).

Here is a diagram of how it is done. Note you connect the 2 wires to the 85 & 86 relay terminals.
the two wires that i connect to the relay, i am not sure where to find them at the computer however i will look tomorrow. i know that their is another plug close to the nss plug under the jeep. i will look at that tomorrow. if they are the same colors i will hook a relay up to that and see what happens.

i trust you and if you say it will work then i believe it will. if it does not work then it will be something on my end. i will post back what happens.

thanks again
40vern is offline  
post #30 of 44 Old 12-19-2019, 11:31 AM
Rubi4MyMrs
Web Wheeler
 
Rubi4MyMrs's Avatar
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trails of
Posts: 4,229
Do not trust me on this one. I am just explaining how to wire it up. The mod is as described by skjeep in post #2. I think he says it has worked for him but may not for everyone. I do think it should work for you. It would be easy to wire a relay up (use your horn relay for testing) & see if it works.

The wires should be the ones near the trans & you could jump off them there to test. If it works the only benefit to using the wires near the PCM is it is easy to attach the relay there rather than next to the trans or running new wires back up under the hood for relay mounting.

The PCM pin positions are given in post #2, just the wire color is different for your year at pin 2.
Rubi4MyMrs is offline  
Reply

Tags
auto , manual , swap , tj , transmission

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
The 5.2/5.9 swap guide for YJs SunDevilJeeper YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 155 10-21-2019 03:50 PM
My goal is to get 25+ mpg from my 99 XJ with 30 x 9.5 R15 ATs Charley3 XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 3864 10-19-2019 11:58 PM
TJ auto to manual transmission conversion Mitch72 TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 12 01-08-2019 01:44 PM
VW 1.9L tdi swap with a 42rle transmission BlackTieTJ Engines & Drivetrain 4 09-16-2018 09:48 PM
2007 JK manual transmission Jomason521 Engines & Drivetrain 1 04-23-2018 11:17 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome