97 wrangler sport gauges are flat lined... - JeepForum.com
 3Likes
  • 3 Post By gp3po

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 04-09-2011, 06:19 PM Thread Starter
jhockadaysjeep
1997 TJ Wrangler 

97 wrangler sport gauges are flat lined...

I am new to jeep forum; i am having a problem with all my guages. The lights work behind the gauges but the gauges do not. Also my wind shield wipers are not working as well as my radio. I think that all of these problems are related but not sure........Please help. Thanks jhockaday.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-09-2011, 07:27 PM
Piratejonh

1997 TJ Wrangler 

Start with a bad ground. Has something been changed, worked on, modified recently?

Jeep took another piece of my finger today...
post #3 of 14 Old 04-09-2011, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
jhockadaysjeep
1997 TJ Wrangler 

no nothing has changed, where are the grounds located?

post #4 of 14 Old 04-09-2011, 08:01 PM
Piratejonh

1997 TJ Wrangler 

Start with easy things. Check your fuses behind the glove box. Use a test light to check for continuity (Power and ground) Check the battery connections. Remove and clean the connection. Check where its grounded to the frame. loosen and tighten the bolt if its corroded. There are a few grounds under the dash. Look for wires connected to the firewall by your feet. Hopefully someone will speak up with very specific paces to look.
It is unlikely all these electrical things suffered spontaneous coordinated failure. The ground is the common connection.

Jeep took another piece of my finger today...
post #5 of 14 Old 04-09-2011, 08:23 PM
dslane
1999 TJ Wrangler