2000 TJ High Idle - JeepForum.com
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By mukluk
  • 1 Post By TheBoogieman

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-13-2019, 08:33 PM Thread Starter
golphnut01

2000 TJ High Idle

Hello everyone. I am new to the Jeep Forum and I need some help. I just purchased a 2000 TJ that has the 4.0 with a manual transmission. The Jeep has 148,500 miles on it and has not been offroaded at all that I can tell. The previous owner at some point installed an AEM Brute Force cold air intake and it also has a spacer under the throttle body. I bought the jeep knowing it was idling high and now it is time to get it fixed. It was idling up around 1800 rpm’s. We found one vacuum line off and fixed it. That brought the rpm’s down to 800 for a short while and now it is back up to 1500. It threw a code pointing to the IAC. I took the throttle body off to clean it and the IAC. When I started it up I thought it was fixed. 800 rpm’s for a short while then back to 1500. I can slow the vehicle down and drag the rpm’s down to 1000 only to push the clutch in and it jumps up to 1500. I don’t see any vacuum leaks and the IAC has been cleaned. How common is it for that control to just go bad and need replacing? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I also hear a squeal when I accelerate and decelerate. I hear that is common with some of these cold air intakes.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 10-13-2019, 08:48 PM
mukluk
Web Wheeler

2000 TJ Wrangler 

Try to replicate the accel/decel squeal while the Jeep is parked -- what you're hearing may be a vacuum leak causing your high idle. So long as it isn't really dusty or there's a bunch of stuff blowing around in the air, it's fairly safe to temporarily remove the air intake tube from the throttle body and run the engine to rule it out as a source of the noise.

Have you tried spraying sensor safe intake cleaner at all suspect vacuum leak locations?