Diesel JLUR fuel questions - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-31-2021, 09:04 AM Thread Starter
Mess262

Diesel JLUR fuel questions

I’m new to the diesel world and picked up a JLURD the other day. I had some questions about fuel and additives etc.
Should I add anything regularly during the spring/summer to the fuel?
I have seen mentions around about “winterized” fuel so how do I know if the fuel is still (and when it becomes) winterized?
I assume for the most part all fuel vendors of ULS diesel are the same correct? Do the brands each have their own additive/detergent cocktails like in petrol?
When fall/winter comes what and how often do I need to add what additives?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 03-31-2021, 10:24 AM
Deserteagle56
2006 TJ Wrangler 

Asking about diesel fuel additives just starts a fight. Some swear by them, others say they are a waste of money. So you need to do your own research and decide for yourself.

Diesel fuel is "winterized" (added anti-gel) by the suppliers. Generally the winterized fuel is delivered to service stations starting in about October and then goes back to the summer formulation around April. It is temperature dependent. Unless you live where it really gets cold - minus 20 and colder - you don't have to worry about winterizing (adding anti-gel) to your tank.

Most folks driving diesels just fuel from the pump and don't bother with any additives and do just fine. Today's diesel is formulated for the new diesel engines.

(I have - and have had - diesel pickups, and a couple diesel tractors.)
post #3 of 9 Old 03-31-2021, 10:56 AM
lampertt