wiring a push button start - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-13-2019, 12:57 PM Thread Starter
bubba030303

wiring a push button start

I am trying to put a push-button start in my 84 CJ. I found this diagram on here https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/atta...wtwiring1a.jpg but I don't know where to put those wires. I am new to this wiring thing and cant read a wiring diagram to save my life. I will have a toggle to turn the power on and off and then the push button to start. That's all I want to do to it. It is used on a cattle ranch as a work vehicle, so all I need to do is make it start and run not worried about any accessories unless necessary. Just need it to crank and run.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 08-13-2019, 01:04 PM
John Strenk

1976 CJ5 

I use to have a drawing and I'll see if I can find it or draw up a new one for you. It's not a schematic but picture of switches and wires running to each location.

Did you buy the switches individually of buy a kit from someplace like Summit Racing?

also do want a switch for accessories like radio, heater, turn signals?

Is everything still stock like the computer control and all that stuff?
The 84 jeep had an emission computer in it to control the engine. A lot of people figure out how to bypass it but if you didn't yet, that will have to be considered also.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 8 Old 08-13-2019, 01:41 PM
John Strenk

1976 CJ5 

Here is an example of wiring up a pushbutton switch with a panel from summit racing.

One switch is for the ignition the other is for accessories.
Attached Thumbnails
joe-46100_xl.jpg   2Switch Pushbutton panel.jpg  

post #4 of 8 Old 08-13-2019, 09:40 PM Thread Starter
bubba030303