• 1 Post By StoneTower
  • 2 Post By southtx

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 07-09-2020, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
southtx

1979 CJ5 

Garage
White Smoke from new Alternator on CJ

On Sunday I pretty much finished installing the Painless Harness and Speedhut gauges on my 79’ CJ5 w/ 4.2 liter. I’m no electrician but I took my time and followed the directions so I think I got it right. I installed my old column so that i could plug in the ignition and turn signal switches so that i could get the dash side of the harness terminated correctly. Once it was all on I double checked everything and then hooked up the battery. As soon as I hooked up the battery the brand new alternator began to emit a white smoke. I unhooked the battery immediately and the smoke slowly went away. None of the wires around the alternator or anywhere else on the jeep felt hot. The ignition lock switch on the old column was always funky so I hoped that had something to do with it.

My new Ididit Retrofit column came in today so I installed it. I hooked up
all of the wiring on the jeep to the battery except the ignition wires from the harness to the column. I checked that everything was good- no hot wires under dash or hood. I then hooked up the ignition wires to the column and made sure nothing on the wiring got hot. I then turned the key one click to the ON position and the alternator starting smoking again (white smoke) so I just unplugged the ignition wires from the column. The alternator stopped smoking. As far as I could tell really quickly, my gauges, blinkers, taillights, brakes and headlights were working correctly and none of the wires under the dash got hot. I disconnected the battery..

Did I get a dud new alternator (Oreilly) or have I wired something incorrectly? I used the large 2 gauge cables from Jeep Cables.com under the hood:

1. 2 gauge from battery negative to starter mounting bolt.

2. 2 gauge from batt neg to head just behind alternator.