3Likes
  • 2 Post By TIPPEDITOVER
  • 1 Post By Cutlass327

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-09-2019, 09:44 PM Thread Starter
Smash289
1975 CJ5 

What to do...

So I'm new to the Jeep world and need a little or a lot of direction. I'm 54 and have a 20 year old that has decided its time to do a father/son project, so we bought a 75 CJ. Here is a list of "knowns." inline 6 rebuilt with 75 miles on it, 3 Spd trans rebuilt with same, decent doors & roof and good interior. Some gauges work, 4whl drive works, very little rust-NO rust through, mainly surface rust around window gasket but floor pans are good. Looks like frame had a different bumper set up possibly for winch. This assumption based on welds/plates/holes from where something was bolted on. Overall runs good, even though I hate the manual 3 speed and for some reason my belly is a little close to the steering wheel. But that would not have anything to do with my girlish figure or at least my wife says it doesn't. So the question is, for a nice looking mainly street ride with the occasional run through a little mud or sand, what should I do to make this a fun, good looking ride that in the end I can get a decent value for.
Lift and how much?
Tire size and kind?
Exterior add ons?
ETC...???

THANKS FOR ANY ADVICE and I look forward to playing around with my son doing this build and being a future Jeep player.

-DB

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-10-2019, 08:49 AM
TIPPEDITOVER
No signal

1978 CJ5 

There is a trend today where people are "preserving the patina" and think that somehow ups the value of a classic vehicle. Hmmm, I wonder why homeowners don't "preserve the patina" on their houses in the same fashion? You could up the value of your home and not have to lift a finger. Genius. That trend needs to happen. I'm tired of home maintenance. I'd love to showcase my homes patina to potential home buyers and get paid more for my laziness.