Weber reinstallation not going well - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 66 Old 12-19-2009, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
wm69
1985 CJ7 

Weber reinstallation not going well

Got my weber 32/36 off of the Jeep (10 years old, first time I've taken it off), cleaned it up, put a kit in it, and put it back on, along with a Holley FPR. I got everything back in place, and now I can't get the thing to run right.

It will start, and will idle roughly. If I give it gas it will backfire a time or two. This happens regardless of where my mixture screw is.

I started at the baseline of 2 revoltions out on hte mixture screw, and 1 1/2 turns in on the idle speed screw (after it touches the throttle linkage).

After reading Fjguercio's thread/ before I started this I called Jose and he said my jets were correct for my location/setup.

Not sure where to look first. I have limited experience with carbs, and I've never messed with the Weber at all. I put a kit in and installed a MC2100 on my other Jeep and it went without a hitch.

Anyone tell me where I should look first?

I'm running a team rush ignition, and I haven't messed with timing or ignition at all. Jeep ran ok before, but was running rich, so I figured I'd clean it out good and add a FPR. Now I'm stuck.

Thanks

85 CJ7 258, borla header, Team Rush, MC2100 ,optima batt, Warn 8274, agr super box 2 & pump, T5 w/ B&M shifter, centerforce 2, superior 1 piece axles, warn hubs 2.5 in lift, 31" BFG MT

85 CJ7 258, A/C, T176, MC2100, Team Rush, Warn XD8000i, superwinch hubs, 3in lift 31" BFG AT/KO
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 66 Old 12-19-2009, 06:06 PM
mcmud
Web Wheeler
1983 CJ8 

I think that you have described the classic example of either too much air or too little fuel.

Starting with possibly the most troublesome of the two. Maybe you have an air leak resulting from the reinstall. Check the mounting surfaces of the adapter plates or a vacuum tube not fully connected .