2Likes
  • 1 Post By Supraquick
  • 1 Post By Cutlass327

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-11-2020, 01:13 PM Thread Starter
Smokey56

Warn winch; short in controler?

Hello to all;
I got a used Warn 9.5TI winch, "..works perfectly; only used twice". Riiight. No paperwork.

I attached the negative battery lead, and used a multi-meter between the positive lead and the battery. Shows 0.00, which does not suggest a short.

But when I plugged in the remote control it shows full voltage going to the winch, without touching the switch. It shouldn't do that, right? Doesn't this indicate a short somewhere? Or is this coming from the temperature light on the switch?

I'm no electrician, but it shouldn't be sending power to the winch until the switch is activated, right?? I'll work on getting the switch apart and look for bare or broken wires. It's in a rubber housing, and is uncooperative.

Update / edit: got the switch apart and see nothing wrong. I have no wiring diagram. Attached to the switched are 3 read wires, (2 of which are jumped together) and one black. I get continuity between the black and red, as soon as the harness is plugged in. Without touching the switch. All opinions welcome.

Update #2. Went to do a parasitic draw test, and didn't get past the box end wrench test. The solenoid's fried. I've heard about winches going through water, and powering on w/ out being switched. Stays on 'til something burns, I hear. And one can see the jimmy rigged "low profile" solenoid mounting.

Gonna buy a solenoid, and look up how to test the rest.

Any info will be appreciated.
Many thanks;
Alan

Attached Images

Last edited by Smokey56; 05-11-2020 at 05:06 PM. Reason: Update and clarify and pics
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-12-2020, 10:46 AM
Supraquick

Garage
Looks like the power wire got plenty hot too. Swap the busted solenoid and let us know. My bet is that you will be OK and the old solenoid just got stuck or overloaded.