Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Valve Cover Broken Cylinder Head Bolts Help

1K views 20 replies 5 participants last post by  c82cj 
#1 ·
I was attempting to remove my valve cover today for the aluminum upgrade and when removing the bolts found that one was broken and another was stuck and I accidentally broke it. These were the ones that slightly held on the plastic valve cover.

I have no clue how long they actually are and can't see the broken bolt inside the hole. As you can see in the pic one has been broken for a long time and probably the main source of my leaks since it is completely covered in oil. almost forgot this is a 1982 CJ-7 with a 258 if that helps

I watched a few videos on removing broken bolts and it seems relatively simple but I have never done this before and since it is the cylinder head I am wondering if it is best to cut my losses and take it to a shop to remove the rest of the bolts. Any advice and tips would be greatly appreciated. I was really hoping for a simple swap of covers but oh well.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
HI, when I enlarge the pictures I can see that the valve cover is broken where the bolts are.. BUT those are actually Head STUD's with perversion for the valve cover nuts.. I think... Can you get us a better picture of the hole thing from farther back.. so we can see better to help you..
good luck
tim

#3 ·
First of all, I do not remember 1982 model year 258 plastic valve covers having the bell washer and with the rubber seal to help hold down the cover. I don't think the motor in your CJ is 1982 but perhaps 1985 and later. They did not have those sealing bell washer until 1985. Take a picture of your engine serial number code and post. Its by the distributor and fuel pump, high up on the engine block.
As I said in another one of your thread postings, you will need to remove the cylinder head in order to get at the broken portion of the bolts. No way around it.

#6 ·