Uncobbling a 1963 willys Jeep pics refurbish build Newbie intro - JeepForum.com
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 93 Old 06-12-2014, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
Unretarded

1963 CJ5 

Uncobbling a 1963 willys Jeep pics refurbish build Newbie intro

Well here it is.......

Any info/critic.....help, suggestions....welcome, I am new to the Jeep and this is my first one.

Soo far I know it is a 1963....oddfire motor.....maybe a t-90,dana 18 with overdrive.......relocated gas tank,....35`s , upgraded steering box.....ugraded wires and fuse box.

I am in my mid 40`s, have worked on many older rides, done construction and currently have a military surplus store, excuse for the Jeep,......I will be using this as a daily driver to and from work and givig it a military type theme.

So far I have rebuilt the carb and removed busted off bolts from the carb mount and sheared bolts from the starter extracted and replaced.

Replaced the ignition key assembly.......anyway, here are some pics to start with.

Attached Thumbnails
P1010039.JPG  
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 93 Old 06-12-2014, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
Unretarded

1963 CJ5 

More pics........
Attached Images

post #3 of 93 Old 06-12-2014, 02:53 PM Thread Starter
Unretarded

1963 CJ5 

More.....
Attached Thumbnails
P1010067.JPG  
Attached Images

post #4 of 93 Old 06-12-2014, 03:01 PM
DanStew
1963 M-38 

Looks good to me. I think at some time the jeep had power steering, the hole in the grill looks to be where the hoses were routed. You have manual saginaw steering now which is still good, because it has linkages than the original . You may want to trim the rear wheelwell, they got eaten by the tires when they flexed real good or go to 33s. Overall it has the goodies alot of people want in an early jeep

Dan Stewart
1991 Wrangler
post #5 of 93 Old 06-12-2014, 08:45 PM
strvger01
1966 CJ5 

looks like you have a great jeep to start with. what direction are you considering for your build?