Stereo/ Radio Mount - JeepForum.com
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By keith460
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-06-2020, 02:44 PM Thread Starter
Davebrown777
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 16
Stereo/ Radio Mount

I want to keep the original radio in the dash for the look but want a new head unit tucked away somewhere that I can still access. Anyone have any ideas of where and how I can mount a new stereo head unit? I still have the original console. Thanks in advance!

Davebrown777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-06-2020, 07:32 PM
turbogus
Registered User
1978 CJ5 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Albany~town, Oregon
Posts: 2,540
Garage
Do you mean like one of these?


The parts shop that stocks part for Skylab II will not have parts for our year/model of Jeep
We cannot accurately judge the trajectory of a speeding critter (cat, dog, sasquatch)
Record heat waves and floods only occur when we visit that area
turbogus is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-07-2020, 04:41 AM
keith460
Web Wheeler
 
keith460's Avatar
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 8,815
If you want to keep your original AMC/Jeep Motorola radio, use it but modernize it to the 21st century. I did just that on my OEM radio by adding an mini auxiliary input jack that a phone, Ipod,or other device can plug into and the radio controls the volume. Not hard to do if you know how to solder small wires onto a circuit board.

I show how to do it in a Dash Restoration thread I posted years ago here: https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f8/c...l#post10972681


With nothing in the jack, the radio works normally.
With player plugged in, radio is out of circuit and mp3 player or phone feed the speakers.
.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0036.jpg   IMG_0025.jpg   IMG_0024.jpg  
JoonHoss likes this.

.
1984 CJ-7 Renegade
__________________
keith460 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 07-07-2020, 10:57 AM Thread Starter
Davebrown777
Registered User
1984 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 16
I have a newer pioneer head unit I already have wired up. It's just laying on the floor right now. Need to mount it to something... Any ideas?
Davebrown777 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-07-2020, 03:50 PM
Capt_Drake
Senior Member
 
Capt_Drake's Avatar
1986 CJ7 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: O'vale
Posts: 518
Mount one of these on the floor or under the dash. I've seen quite a few (CB's) connected via bracket to the bottom of the dash.

Also, consider replacing the console, I've got a Tuffy that has a spot for a radio.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Capt_Drake is offline  
Reply

Tags
mount , radio , stereo

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome