Speedhut Gauge Install - Detailed Wiring Questions - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 12-16-2019, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
cbauer210
1981 CJ7 

Speedhut Gauge Install - Detailed Wiring Questions

Hey there, I am prepping for my Speedhut gauge install and I have a few questions / things I want to confirm before I start hacking into my wiring harness. This is for the 3 gauge kit with integrate tach and it is going into an 81 CJ7. I'm not an electrician so have a lot of questions. Hopefully someone can answer all of them and this post can be helpful to others too. Here they are:

1 - Parking Brake Light - There is a black wire (#7) on the Speedhut gauge. The stock gauge has a black wire and a red wire.
- I believe I connect black to black, correct?
- If so, what do I do with the red wire?

2 - Fuel Level Gauge - There is a White wire (#10/Signal) and a Black wire (#9/Ground) on the Speedhut harness. The stock gauge has a pink and a red wire.
- I believe I connect the white wire to the pink wire, correct?
- Can the black ground go to any ground such as the black ground wire from the stock Tach?
- If all that is correct, what do I do with the red wire?

3 - 4x4 Indicator - There is an Orange wire (#11) on the Speedhut gauge. The stock gauge has an Orange wire and Red wire.
- I believe I connect orange to orange, correct?

4 - GPS Hot Start - There is a Red/Black wire on the Speedhut gauge that is supposed to go to 12v constant (non-switched).
- I was going to us an Add-A-Circuit on the Fuse Box for this. Is that ok?
- What fuse location & fuse size would be good to tap & add to?

5 - Temp Gauge - The kit comes with a replacement temp sender w/ a wiring harness that connects to the Speedhut gauge. The stock gauge has a Purple w/ Tracer Wire.
- Do I just install the new sender, connect the harnesses, and cap off that Purple w/ Tracer Wire?