Reduce PO’s Lift? - JeepForum.com
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 07-08-2020, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
Hoffy02

Reduce PO’s Lift?

Hello all, newbie here. Working on a 1985 CJ7. Lots of metal work but frame engine and suspension all in great shape. This thing handles like a dream, tracks straight and can steer with a pinky, but it’s a kidney beater and just too high for me. I have a very bad back. It has a 4” lift and 33” tires. Would like to lower it as cost effectively as possible. Is it as straight forward as buying a 2.5” lift and swapping the components out? Or is it more involved than that?
Can I reuse some components and swap the spring packs?
I’m assuming lower arch in shorter springs will improve ride quality correct?

Search function didn’t help much but I did enjoy seeing some guy get flamed for wanting to make is Jeep a low rider... lmao

Not sure if this matters but my plan is 100% street, or Mall crawler, trailer queen, whatever the correct nickname is. Lol! I’ve always wanted one but never for the off-road aspect. Driving up and down the beach or down to the lake will be about the most this Jeep ever see’s off the pavement.
Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 07-08-2020, 04:36 PM
RiverandSand
1980 CJ5 

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoffy02 View Post
Is it as straight forward as buying a 2.5” lift and swapping the components out? Or is it more involved than that?
Can I reuse some components and swap the spring packs?
I’m assuming lower arch in shorter springs will improve ride quality correct?

Thanks in advance