New steering shaft will not fit - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-21-2019, 06:59 AM Thread Starter
TroublesomeDuo
1979 CJ5 

New steering shaft will not fit

I recently purchased a 1979 CJ5 as my first project jeep, so I am new to a lot of this. It has the original 258 w/ 3-speed transmission and has a fiberglass tub. The suspension has recently been replaced. That included all leaf springs and shocks. The seller also informed me that he had the frame replaced about 7 years ago.

Now for the problem I am running into... What appears to be the original steering shaft had a ton of play in it and the universal joint where it connects to the steering shaft was completely shot. I ordered an HD steering shaft from Quadratec that should have been a direct replacement. When the steering shaft arrived, it was about 3/4" too long. The original steering shaft was roughly 33.5" long with a universal joint at one end and a cup assembly where it connects to the steering box. The new one was about 34.25" long with universal joints at both ends and a solid shaft. I've contacted Quadratec and they told me the one I ordered is supposed to be the correct fit for a 1979 CJ5.

Is it possible that the new frame threw off some of the measurements? The seller did tell me the frame was from a truck but I do not recall exactly which frame.

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-21-2019, 07:45 AM
cjoffroad

1980 CJ7 

Garage
All you have to do is push one end of the shaft to shorten it a little

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 6 Old 09-21-2019, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
TroublesomeDuo
1979 CJ5 

Neither end will move. According to Quadratec, this shaft does not telescope at all.

post #4 of 6 Old 09-21-2019, 08:06 PM
skizriz

1978 CJ7