new CJ7 owner, dripping sound in engine - JeepForum.com
 2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 04-03-2021, 08:02 AM Thread Starter
fibersport

new CJ7 owner, dripping sound in engine

New to the group as well as new to Jeeps. After wanting a Jeep for 50 years, I finally got one, a 1984 CJ7. It's a running project and I'm just learning about its oddities. Let me start off that I know my way around the garage having restored classic boats, rebuilt engines, painted cars, remodeled my home and can weld.

The previous owner did some modifications but seems he didn't finish them. Here is what I know: new aluminum radiator, new Motorcraft 2100 or 2500 carb, bypassed heater core, no coolant overflow tank, HEI ignition, new exhaust system with new converter, many wires not connected, new power steering system but the steering wheel is way off, probably due to the tie rod ends being out of adjustment, seems that he has pulled off all the emission parts, done a few rust repairs (but didn't finish) and various other things.