Need some help with wiring a 304. - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-29-2008, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
_Lou_

Need some help with wiring a 304.

First let me start by stating I am no electrician. I am a booger eating, mouth breather when it comes to engine and electrical wiring. So, I have a 1980 CJ7 with a 304. I have recently replaced the entire wiring harness with a painless harness. I have also replaced the ignition module with a OEM replacement module, I have replaced the coil with a MSD Blaster 2 coil, and I have put the "Team Rush" cap and spacer on the distributor.

Now, in the instructions from Painless, it shows this schematic:

In this schematic, it shows brown wire #781 (I terminal wire) coming off the starter solenoid and dead ending at the white wire from the ignition module. This is represented by the brown wire meeting the white wire with a black dot.

Question 1: Does that mean I simply splice the brown and white wire together?

Question 2: If I do just splice those two wires together, do I continue with the brown or white wire to the "Ballast resistor"

You might also note once the brown wire and white wire are spliced on the schematic, there is an arrow pointed to this wire labeled "Resistor Bypass Wire". If you follow that wire to the ballast resistor, it has a little semi circle , is this "schematic speak" for "these two wires do not splice"?

Question 3: What is this "Resistor Bypass Wire"? I assume I need it, as it is in the schematic.

Here is a close up of the area in question:

Now on to the "Ballast resistor".

Other side:

I do not recall pulling one of these off when I tore the Jeep down, but that was five years ago. I have found a spot real close to the coil to mount the ballast resistor.