3Likes
  • 1 Post By trailhead2004
  • 1 Post By trailhead2004
  • 1 Post By mardis

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-18-2019, 10:08 AM Thread Starter
mardis

Need to rebuild engine?

My engine has some serious blow back so Iím thinking the engine needs to be replaced/rebuilt. Iíd like to buy a crate engine and keep the price below $1500. Anyone have any recommendations on where to buy? Iím new to this so any help is appreciated.

1974 CJ5 258ci 4.2L i6

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 01-18-2019, 02:27 PM
trailhead2004
Web Wheeler

1980 CJ7 

Quote:
Originally Posted by mardis View Post
My engine has some serious blow back so I’m thinking the engine needs to be replaced/rebuilt. I’d like to buy a crate engine and keep the price below $1500. Anyone have any recommendations on where to buy? I’m new to this so any help is appreciated.

1974 CJ5 258ci 4.2L i6
My first stop is usually the local parts house, NAPA or better. Not the Checker/Schucks/Kragen type of place. Done a few motors that way. Not sure who they would order them from but you could ask.

EDIT: BTW, have you done a compression or leak down check? What evidence do you have of blowby?
pedal2themetai likes this.
post #3 of 8 Old 01-19-2019, 03:52 PM Thread Starter
mardis

Quote:
Originally Posted by trailhead2004 View Post
My first stop is usually the local parts house, NAPA or better. Not the Checker/Schucks/Kragen type of place. Done a few motors that way. Not sure who they would order them from but you could ask.

EDIT: BTW, have you done a compression or leak down check? What evidence do you have of blowby?
I did a compression check but not a leak down. Iím getting pressure build up in the engine. Iíve replaced the PCV and made sure there is vacuum from the carburetor. I had a breather on the other end of the valve cover but it was blowing out and oil was coming out of the dipstick hole. With just a hose on the back end now but oil is still coming out of any opening it can find.